Calendar of Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

[ONLINE EVENT] 50th Annual Meeting and Members’ Social

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 | 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Join us to celebrate another outstanding year and for our first-ever virtual annual meeting and members’ social. 

Although we cannot share delicious Japanese cuisine during this year’s meeting, we encourage you to support Japanese restaurants around the Dallas/Fort Worth area and order food for take-out. Please visit our suggested restaurant list for some ideas.

This event will be offered free of charge, however this is normally a paid program. Therefore, we appreciate any donation you can make to help the Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth to continue offering great content throughout the year. Please visit our donation portal to give.

Please note that voting will take place online on the week of May 18. A separate email will be sent to current corporate and individual/family members. See below for a list of nominees and their bios.

Date and Time

Wednesday, May 27, 2020
6:30 – 7:30 PM Dallas





Program of Events

  • Welcome by Paul Pass, JASDFW Executive Director
  • Remarks by the Honorable Hideo Fukushima, Consul-General of Japan in Houston
  • Overview of 2019-20 by Jackson Chen, JASDFW President
  • Results of voting for officers and elected directors
  • Virtual daruma ceremony with Jackson Chen, JASDFW President and Grant Ogata, JASDFW President-elect

Nominees for Board of Directors

Nominated officers for term ending 2022

All positions are up for election except for the President position, which was confirmed in May 2018

  • President: Grant Ogata – Domitech Products, LLC
  • Japanese First Vice President: Kazunori Nemoto – Hitachi High Technologies America, Inc.
  • American First Vice President/President-elect: Harry C. Whalen – Frisco Economic Development Corporation
  • Japanese Second Vice President: Shigetoshi Takashi – MUFG Bank, Ltd.
  • American Second Vice President: Sarah Carabias-Rush – Dallas Regional Chamber
  • Secretary: Naveen Bandla – DFW International Airport
  • Treasurer: Allison Rosario – PwC
  • General Counsel: Roshan Mansinghani – Unified Patents Inc.

Nominated elected directors for term ending 2023

  1. Mark Berry – Collins Aerospace
  2. John Bowers – American Airlines
  3. Elaine Browning
  4. Lawrence Howorth – Richardson Economic Development Partnership
  5. Dustin Johnson – Haynes and Boone, LLP
  6. Keiichi Kagayama – High-Speed-Railway Technology Consulting Corporation 
  7. David Schlottman – Jackson Walker L.L.P.
  8. Hisashi (Sam) Shichijo – The University of Texas at Dallas 


Wednesday, May 27, 2020
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Event Categories:
, , , ,




Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth
The Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth is a Texas non-profit corporation qualified under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.