

## **Sun & Star Legacy Award Recipients**

The Sun & Star Legacy Award, established in 1998, is given annually to a distinguished leader who has enhanced the relationship between the peoples of Japan and the United States. The name refers to Japan's Rising Sun and the Texas Lone Star, symbolizing friendship between Japan and Texas.

2016	The Honorable Ichiro Fujisaki Ambassador of Japan to the United States, 2008-2012
2015	Yoshiyuki Kasai Chairman Emeritus of Central Japan Railway
2014	The Honorable John V. Roos United States Ambassador to Japan, 2009-2013
2013	Minoru Makihara Senior Corporate Advisor, Mitsubishi Corporation
2012	Admiral Patrick M. Walsh Commander, U.S. Pacific Fleet
2011	American Airlines
2010	The Honorable J. Thomas Schieffer United States Ambassador to Japan, 2005-2009
2009	The Honorable Ryozo Kato Japanese Ambassador to the United States, 2001-2008
2008	<b>Dr. Shoichiro Toyoda</b> Honorary Chairman of Toyota Motor Corporation
2007	Richard W. Fisher President and Chief Executive Officer of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
2006	George Takei Actor
2005	Masatoshi Ito Founder & Honorary Chairman, Ito-Yokado Group

2004	The Honorable Norman Y. Mineta United States Secretary of Transportation
2003	The Honorable Yasuhiro Nakasone Prime Minister of Japan, 1982-1987
2002	The Honorable Michael H. Armacost
2001	United States Ambassador to Japan, 1989-1993  The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye
	United States Senator from the State of Hawaii, 1962-2012
2000	The Honorable Thomas S. Foley United States Ambassador to Japan, 1997-2001
1999	The Honorable Hisashi Owada  Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations, 1994-1998
1998	The Honorable Walter F. Mondale United States Ambassador to Japan, 1993-1996